As of July 1st 2023, concealed carry of a firearm without a permit will become legal in the state of Florida.
Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis recently signed legislation to legalize ‘concealed carry’ with. The state becomes the 26th in the U.S. to legalize concealed carry without a permit.
What Does the Concealed Carry without a Permit Legalization Mean?
- The legalization of concealed carry without a permit means that no one is required to carry a special permit or undergo special training to carry a concealed firearm in Florida.
- However, restrictions on where firearms can be present still remain.
- For example, it remains unlawful to carry a concealed firearm in a:
- Any place where carrying firearms is prohibited by federal law.
- Airport terminals (including carry-on bags)
- Bar or location licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.
- Career center college or university
- Detention facility
- Government building
- Law enforcement property
- Polling place
- Professional athletic event
- Public Library
- Public school
- It is also still illegal for convicted felons to carry a firearm (unless their rights have been restored).
- You must still carry a valid ID at all times when carrying a concealed weapon. A violation of this will bring a $25 fine. Law enforcement may ask to see it at any time when you have a concealed weapon.
- If you carry a concealed firearm when you are prohibited from owning a firearm, it is a third-degree felony.
- Is It a Crime to Take a Gun Into a Bar in Florida?
- Can I Take a Gun into an Airport in Florida?
What Was The Law Previously?
Florida law was previously:
- A third-degree felony to carry a concealed firearm without a permit.
- Up to 5 years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
When Does the Concealed Carry without a Permit Law Take Effect in Florida?
The new legislation signed by DeSantis will take effect on July 1 2023.
Does The Bill Change Who Can Buy a Firearm?
- You must be a Florida resident aged 21 or older, or;
- A law enforcement or corrections officer, or;
- In the military.
- Gun ownership is restricted for those with felony convictions, dishonorable discharges, adjudicated mentally defective or involuntarily committed to treatment, convicted of a domestic violence misdemeanor or any other conditions recognized by the state.
Is Open Carry Legal in Florida?
- Open carry remains illegal in Florida.
- Open carry is the act of carrying a weapon openly in public.
- Open carry is a second-degree misdemeanor with a $500 fine, or;
- A maximum of 60 days in jail.
- There are exemptions for:
- Law enforcement
- Corrections officers
- Game wardens
- Forest official
- Firearms club members
Pinellas County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Sean McQuaid is a top-rated criminal defense attorney in Pinellas County. He is the president at Battaglia, Ross, Dicus & McQuaid, P.A., one of Tampa Bay’s most prestigious law firms with the reputation and connections to make things happen.
Contact us today for a free consultation to get started or CALL (727) 381-2300