Many people are surprised to learn that DUI laws for E-Scooters in Pinellas County are the same as those for a regular motor vehicle. That is because Florida law defines e-scooters as vehicles.
We meet many people who are shocked when they get stopped and arrested for using an E-Scooter. If this has happened to you, you should contact a Pinellas County DUI attorney as soon as possible to save your license and your future.
What Are the DUI Laws for E-Scooters in Pinellas County?
DUI laws for E-Scooters in Pinellas County are exactly the same as those for motor vehicle drivers. Florida Statute 316.193 states it is illegal to:
- To drive or be in actual control of any vehicle while under the influence of;
- Illegal drugs
- Or other illegal substances
- To drive or be in actual control of any vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 or more.
What Are The Penalties for a DUI on an E-Scooter in Pinellas County?
The penalties for a DUI offense on an E-Scooter in Pinellas County are the same as DUIs in a car. These can have a devastating impact on your life, from employment and college opportunities to insurance and housing.
First-Time DUI Offenses
The penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Florida are:
- 6 to 9 months of jail time
- $983-$2,000 in fines
- License Suspension of up to 1 year
- A mandatory interlock ignition device was installed for BAC levels of over .15 (this is a breathalyzer installed in your car that restricts it from starting if alcohol is detected)
Second-Time DUI Offenses
A second conviction within 5 years of the first is considered a ‘second-time offense’, the penalties are:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- $5,000 in fines
- License suspension of up to 10 years
A third conviction within 10 years of the 2nd will result in increased penalties again.
Read Related: How Long Does a DUI Case Take in Pinellas County
What Other Laws Must E-Scooter Riders Follow in Pinellas County?
Although DUI E-Scooter laws in Pinellas County are the same as for cars, riders must also follow Florida Statute 316.2065’s Bicycle Regulations.
These laws state how E-Scooter operators must ride and behave on Florida’s public roads.
- They must observe all the same road regulations as cyclists.
- E-scooters are not street legal but can be used on bike lanes on public roads.
- E-scooters are banned from sidewalks in Pinellas County (local laws).
- E-scooters are banned from use on roads where the speed limit is above 30mph (local laws).
- E-scooters are banned from the city’s waterfront trails.
- Riders must be at least 16 years old to operate on the road but are not required to have a driver’s license.
What To Do If You Get Arrested on an E-Scooter in Pinellas County?
More and more people are getting arrested on E-Scooters in Pinellas these days, as law enforcement tries to reduce the number of accidents.
If this has happened to you, please contact our Pinellas County criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible.
- We may be able to help you either get the case reduced to a lower offense or have the case thrown out entirely.
- For example, if your arrest was unlawful and your rights were infringed then the case could be dismissed quickly.
- There are also cases where there have been misunderstandings, and your clean history suggests that this arrest and charge was overkill.
- There is also a chance that we can work to get your case reduced to a careless driving charge (or similar). Something like that would be a civil citation, so you would avoid a criminal record and only pay a relatively small fine.
- We’ve seen this in recent times with similar cases with Golf Cart DUIs, where our clients were arrested for minor traffic infractions.
Read Related: Reasons for When You Can Be Stopped by Police
Save Your License
Just because your DUI was on an E-Scooter, doesn’t mean your license is safe. Even as a scooter user, your driver’s license may be suspended immediately.
You will need to challenge the suspension, with the help of your criminal defense attorney. However, you have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to file this challenge. Act fast.
If you make this challenge, you may also be able to file for a ‘hardship license’ which lasts for 42 days so you can still drive to work.
Read Related: How to Keep My License After a DUI in Florida
E-Scooter DUI Defense Lawyer in Pinellas County, FL
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI on an E-Scooter in Pinellas County, please contact our criminal defense lawyers for a swift and aggressive response.
Our experienced team regularly helps people charged with both unlawful arrests or in need of a strong defense, to gain a future free from the consequences of prison and a criminal record.
Our Pinellas County criminal defense attorneys at Battaglia, Ross, Dicus & McQuaid, P.A., are part of one of Tampa Bay’s most prestigious law firms. We have the reputation and connections to make things happen.
Contact us today for a free consultation to get started or CALL (727) 381-2300