Driving on a Suspended License Attorney2021-02-23T01:10:29+00:00

Driving on a Suspended License Attorney

Driving on a Suspended License

If you’re caught driving with a suspended license (DWLSR) in Florida, then the consequences can be severe. Most people think they will just get a fine. Sometimes they are right. But, eventually, DWLSR charges will catch up to you. The charge is very common in Pinellas County, yet also one with some of the most devastating long term consequences on your ability to get a license.

As a ‘driving on a suspended license’ attorney in Pinellas County, Sean McQuaid will fight for your best possible outcome, whether that’s to provide you with a path to reinstate your license, keep your record clean, or avoid jail time.

St Petersburg Criminal Defense Attorney
Start Planning Your Defense

Driving on a Suspended License Lawyer in Pinellas County

Sean McQuaid has been successfully defending people charged with driving on suspended licenses for over 20 years. Mr. McQuaid is President at Battaglia Ross Dicus & McQuaid, P.A., which for over 60 years has been providing the Tampa Bay area with exceptional legal assistance.

Mr. McQuaid is highly respected by the State Attorney’s Office and the Judges at the Pinellas Justice Center and has received a perfect ranking from numerous review sources from his peers, the judges he practices in front of and his clients and their families. Mr. McQuaid knows every judge and prosecutor that will be handling your case, which can give you a significant advantage.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license in Pinellas County, please contact Sean McQuaid today for a free consultation.

What Happens if You Get Caught Driving With a Suspended License in Florida?

Driving while on a suspended license (DWLSR) or on a revoked license is a crime and strictly enforced. The penalties are the same for both under Florida Statute 322.34, which breaks them down into different categories.

If caught, you may be arrested or get lucky and receive a citation and a court date. If convicted, you may face severe penalties. Failure to appear in court can make matters even worse. To defend yourself and follow the procedures correctly, it is highly advised to contact a driving with a suspended license attorney in Pinellas County.

Driving on a Suspended License Attorney
Plan Your Defense

What’s The Difference Between a Suspended and Revoked License?

Suspended License Revoked License
The license is temporarily suspended. The license is fully canceled and cannot be reinstated.
The suspension ends after the stated suspension period and once you’ve paid the suspension termination fees. OR, until you take the required action to reinstate it. To regain license, you must request approval from DMV, pay any penalties owed and go through Florida’s state licensing process.

What Are the Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License?

Driving on a Suspended License Without Knowledge

As simply a civil citation, ‘unknowingly driving with a suspended license’ is the least severe offense level. First-time offenders are usually charged with this.

  • Civil citation with a fine.
  • Points on your record.
  • Potential consequences to trigger additional suspension (e.g., habitual traffic offender).

First Offense Driving on a Suspended License With Knowledge:

Driving on a suspended license with knowledge is a more severe offense.

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to $500 fine.
  • 60 days in Pinellas County Jail or 6 months probation.

Second Offense Driving on a Suspended License With Knowledge

  • First-degree misdemeanor.
  • Up to $1,000 fine.
  • One year in Pinellas County Jail or up to 12 months probation.

Third Offense or Driving on a Habitual Traffic Offender Suspension:

This charge is for a third or subsequent offense.

  • Third-degree felony.
  • Up to $5,000
  • Up to five years of probation.
  • Up to five years in Florida state prison.

What Are the Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License?

Driving on a Suspended License Without Knowledge

As simply a civil citation, ‘unknowingly driving with a suspended license’ is the least severe offense level. First-time offenders are usually charged with this.

  • Civil citation with a fine.
  • Points on your record.
  • Potential consequences to trigger additional suspension (e.g., habitual traffic offender).

First Offense Driving on a Suspended License With Knowledge:

Driving on a suspended license with knowledge is a more severe offense.

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to $500 fine.
  • 60 days in Pinellas County Jail or 6 months probation.

Second Offense Driving on a Suspended License With Knowledge

  • First-degree misdemeanor.
  • Up to $1,000 fine.
  • One year in Pinellas County Jail or up to 12 months probation.

Third Offense or Driving on a Habitual Traffic Offender Suspension:

This charge is for a third or subsequent offense.

  • Third-degree felony.
  • Up to $5,000
  • Up to five years of probation.
  • Up to five years in Florida state prison.
Driving on a Suspended License
Plan Your Defense
Free Consultation, Let’s Talk

Start Planning Your Defense

Please fill out the form and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible, fields labelled with a * are required. By submitting this form you are agreeing with our Terms of Use